Skip Navigation

6310 Hillside Court
Suite 160
Columbia, MD 21046

P. 410-290-0707

111 South Calvert Street

Suite 2700

Baltimore, MD 21202

P. 410-962-1199

Montgomery County Sick and Safe Leave

Effective October 1, 2016, all employers with employees working in Montgomery County, Maryland must provide sick leave to each employee.  Under the Sick and Safe Leave law, each employee accrues 1 hour of sick leave for each 30 hours worked, with annual limits of accrual and use, based on the size of the employer.  A fact sheet and posters are available on the website of  the Montgomery County Office of Human Rights at https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/humanrights/ .

BTLG Attorneys At Law

Talk to a lawyer

Bold labels are required.

News from BTLG:

Maryland’s #MeToo Bill – New Reporting Requirements
In the wake of the nation’s #MeToo movement, Maryland now joins the ranks of other states, such as Illinois and New York, that have adopted stricter sexual harassment policies.
Maryland Minimum Wage Increase 2018
Beginning on July 1, 2018, Maryland’s minimum wage will increase from $9.25 to $10.10 an hour.
General Data Protection Regulation
On May 25, 2018, the EU's General Data Protection Regulation went in to effect, regulating any business that collects or processes the personal data of EU residents
Maryland Healthy Working Families Act
As of February 11, 2018, employers employing fifteen (15) or more employees are required to provide paid Sick and Safe Leave to their employees. Smaller employers are required to provide unpaid leave.
More BTLG News